Skip to content

AAE Bestows Seven Recipients with Top Honors at 2017 Annual Meeting

The American Association of Endodontists acknowledged seven individuals with the organization's highest honors at the annual meeting in New Orleans. The following AAE members were honored by the Association for their commitment to advancing endodontics and the specialty. In partnership with Dentsply Sirona, the AAE developed videos highlighting the accomplishments of the award recipients. Videos can be viewed on the AAE's YouTube channel. Pictured with the award winners are 2016-2017 President Dr. Linda G. Levin (left) and 2016-2017 Honors and Awards Committee Chair Dr. Gerald N. Glickman (right).

GutmannCoolidgeJames L. Gutmann, D.D.S., received the AAE's highest accolade, the Edgar D. Coolidge Award, given for leadership and exemplary dedication to dentistry and endodontics. Dr. Gutmann remains committed to achieving excellence in the field through his efforts as both an educator and a practitioner. An AAE member since 1971, and president of the Association from 2000-2001, Dr. Gutmann serves as editor of the Journal of History of Dentistry and as president of the American Academy of the History of Dentistry. Dr. Gutmann's contribution to the field includes more than 800 lectures, papers and continuing education courses, presented around the world, and more than 300 articles he authored or co-authored in dental journals and texts, addressing scientific research, educational and clinical topics.

A Diplomate of the American Board of Endodontics, Dr. Gutmann received his D.D.S. from Marquette University School of Dentistry in Milwaukee and his Certificate in Endodontics from the University of Illinois College of Dentistry. In addition to this current honor, Dr. Guttman received the I.B. Bender Lifetime Educator Award from the AAE in 2011.

RosenbergBenderPaul A. Rosenberg, D.D.S., was honored with the I.B. Bender Lifetime Educator Award, presented to a full-time educator with a minimum of 15 years of experience whose contributions to endodontics have demonstrated excellence through selfless commitment to full-time educational pursuits and have instilled in students a desire to pursue excellence in their careers. Dr. Rosenberg has devoted more than 25 years of his professional career to shepherding budding endodontists into the field through his work as professor and chair of the Department of Endodontics and as post graduate director at New York University College of Dentistry. A Board-certified endodontist, Dr. Rosenberg maintains an endodontic practice in New York City.

Dr. Rosenberg received his D.D.S. and Certificate in Endodontics at NYU and later received the Distinguished Teaching Award, the highest award for teaching, from his alma mater. He served on the American Board of Endodontics Board of Directors from 2002-2008.

BarnettOsetekFrederic Barnett, D.M.D., was granted the Edward M. Osetek Educator Award, presented to a full-time educator with less than 10 years of teaching experience, who has earned the esteem and respect of students and faculty associates. Dr. Barnett is adjunct associate professor of the Department of Endodontics at the University of Pennsylvania's School of Dental Medicine and is program director at the I.B. Bender Division of Postdoctoral Endodontics, Albert Einstein Medical Center, where he serves as chairman of the Maxwell S. Fogel Department of Dental Medicine. He is a director of the International Association of Dental Trauma and is on the Medical Staff Board and Research committees at the Albert Einstein Medical Center. He worked in private endodontic practice for 30 years.

Dr. Barnett received his D.M.D. from the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine in 1978, where he also completed postdoctoral training in 1981. A Diplomate of the American Board of Endodontics, Dr. Barnett currently serves on the Dental Traumatology Editorial Board and is an associate editor of the Journal of Endodontics.

SpectorPartTimeJoseph K. Spector, D.D.S., received the Part-Time Educator Award, presented to an individual working part-time in education for at least 20 years, and whose contributions have demonstrated dedication to endodontics and instilled in students a desire to pursue excellence in their careers. Dr. Spector spent the better part of the last 60 years devoted to endodontic education. Throughout a career in private practice from 1957 to 2008, Dr. Spector held academic positions at colleges and universities throughout New York, including the NYU College of Dentistry, Hofstra University and Long Island Jewish Medical Center, where he currently serves as chief for the Division of Endodontics.

Dr. Spector received his D.D.S. from the New York University College of Dentistry in 1955 and became a Diplomate of the American Board of Endodontics in 1965. He served as a captain of the U.S. Airforce from 1955 - 1957 and remained in the Reserves until 1960.

ForteSpiritSteven G. Forte, D.D.S., was awarded the Spirit of Service Lifetime Dental Community Volunteer Award for his commitment to treating underserved patients with essential dental care. During a 20-year career in private practice and as an educator, Dr. Forte volunteered his time and services with organizations including Mission of Mercy Virginia Dental Association, where he will have participated in 20 mission projects by the end 2017, Crossover Clinics, and Give Kids and Smile.

Dr. Forte received his D.D.S. and his Certificate in Endodontics from Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry. He is a member of organizations and associations including the Peninsula Dental Society, the Virginia Dental Association, the Virginia Academy of Endodontics, and the American Dental Association.

KeiserPresidentsKarl Keiser, D.D.S., M.S., received the President's Award from Dr. Linda G. Levin, 2016-2017 president of AAE, for his contributions to endodontics and his service to the AAE and ABE. Dr. Keiser has served on both the AAE Board of Directors and the American Board of Endodontics as well as on countless committees. A former recipient of the Edward M. Osetek Educator's Award, Dr. Keiser is an adjunct associate professor at the University of Texas Dental School in San Antonio and works in private practice in New Braunfels, Texas.

Dr. Keiser received his D.D.S. from Indiana University and his Certificate in Endodontics from the University of Michigan School of Dentistry. He is a Diplomate of the American Board of Endodontics and a Fellow of the American and International College of Dentists.

HannenHonoraryMs. Margie A. Hannenwas granted Honorary Membership to AAE by the Board of Directors. Such membership is given in acknowledgement of significant contributions that further the advancement of endodontics by individuals who otherwise are not eligible for membership. Ms. Hannen served as the executive secretary for the American Board of Endodontics from 1999 until 2014, when she became its chief operating officer. She also worked as membership coordinator at the AAE and assisted with the development of the membership directory. Her tireless efforts on behalf of the specialty supported the hard work of countless endodontists during their certification process and well beyond.


About the American Association of Endodontists
TheAmerican Association of Endodontists, headquartered in Chicago, Ill., represents more than 8,000 members worldwide. Endodontics is one of nine dental specialties formally recognized by the American Dental Association. The AAE, founded in 1943, is dedicated to excellence in the art and science of endodontics and to the highest standard of patient care. The Association inspires its members to pursue professional advancement and personal fulfillment through education, research, advocacy, leadership, communication and service. For more information about the AAE, visit the Association's website at

For high resolution images, please email