Skip to content

Announcing the 2019 AAE Award Winners

The AAE is proud to announce the 2019 recipients of its most prestigious awards, to be presented at the Association’s annual meeting in Montréal this April.  “We are honored and thrilled to announce the winners of our top awards and to celebrate their achievements in the endodontic specialty,” said AAE President Dr. Patrick E. Taylor. “These five AAE members stood out as leaders within the research, education and service communities, and we are incredibly proud to be presenting them with these awards.”

Louis E. Rossman, D.M.D., will receive the Edgar D. Coolidge Award, AAE’s highest honor, in recognition of his extraordinary leadership and exemplary dedication to dentistry and endodontics. Dr. Rossman is a clinical professor of endodontics and overseer at the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine.
Known to his friends as “Luigi,” Dr. Rossman is never one to back down from a challenge — from complicated root canal treatments to mountain climbing. He is a past president of the AAE, the Foundation for Endodontics and the American Board of Endodontics, and a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine and the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine specialty program in Endodontics.

Markus Haapasalo, D.D.S., Ph.D., is the winner of the Louis I. Grossman  Award for cumulative publication of significant research studies that have made an extraordinary contribution to endodontology. Dr. Haapasalo is active in various dental organizations and has authored or co-authored over 200 scientific articles in peer-reviewed journals. He served as professor and head of the Department of Oral Biological Medical Science at the University of British Columbia. Dr. Haapasalo has served as an associate editor on several endodontic and dental journals, including the Journal of Endodontics

Glenn R. Walters, D.D.S., B.D.S., is the winner of the Calvin D. Torneck Part-Time Educator Award, recognizing his contributions to endodontics through his dedication as a part-time educator. He currently teaches at The University Texas Health and Science Center in San Antonio and he has held dozens of leadership positions on various boards and at a variety of academic institutions.  This award was originally titled the Part-Time Educator Award, but its name was changed to honor 2018 winner, Dr. Calvin D. Torneck. 

James D. Johnson, D.D.S, M.S., is the winner of the I.B. Bender Lifetime Educator Award, presented to an individual whose contributions to endodontics in the field of education have demonstrated excellence through selfless commitment to full-time educational pursuits, and whose contributions have instilled in students the desire to pursue excellence in their careers. Dr. Johnson is professor and chair of University of Washington’s School of Dentistry and a past president of the American Board of Endodontics. He received his D.D.S. degree from Northwestern University and served in the U.S. Air Force as a dental officer. 

Avina K. Paranjpe, B.D.S, M.S., Ph.D., M.S.D., is the winner of the Edward M. Osetek Award, which is presented to a full-time educator with less than 10 years of teaching experience, who has earned the esteem and respect of students and faculty associates. She is an associate professor in the Department of Endodontics at the University of Washington and a part of the 2018-19 American Dental Education Association Leadership Institute.   

Leave a Comment