Skip to content

Educator Grants

Endodontic education drives the specialty forward. It is critical to the specialty’s future that endodontists are continually teaching endodontics. The Foundation for Endodontics offers a variety of funding opportunities for educators to receive professional development, participate in continuing education and hone their scientific skills.

Full-Time Educator Development Grant

The Foundation for Endodontics will provide AAE Educator Members (full-time educators) reimbursement up to $1,500 to attend any of the meetings listed below. The full funding is available to full-time educators annually, during the calendar year. The goal of a funding opportunity is to ensure educators are getting  professional development opportunities that meet their individual needs. This grant reimburses for expenses related to meeting registration, lodging, and travel. The following meetings/courses have been added to the list of development opportunities eligible for funding:

  • AAE Annual Meeting
  • AAE Insight Track
  • ADEA Annual Meeting
  • ADEA Fall Meeting
  • AAL Institute for Teaching and Learning
  • Asian Pacific Endodontic Confederation (APEC) Scientific Congress
  • College of Diplomates Board Review Course
  • College of Diplomates Summer Conference
  • American Association for Dental, Oral and Craniofacial Research Meeting
  • International Institute for Dental Research
  • International Association for Dental Research Meeting
  • International Association for Dental Traumatology Meeting
  • International Federation of Endodontic Associations (IFEA) World Congress
  • European Society of Endodontology Conference
  • Other AAE meetings (i.e., Joint Symposium, Winter Meeting)
  • Other meetings (as approved by the appropriate Foundation committee chair)

Please note that grant funds are released to educators only after the meeting(s) for which they've applied for have taken place.

The application is completely online, complete with an upload section for your proof of meeting registration and applicable receipts. Click the button below to be taken to the encrypted, secure form. This online application format replaces paper and emailed applications.

10-Year Anniversary Grant

The 10-Year Anniversary grant recognizes educators who have been teaching full-time for 10 consecutive years. The Foundation will provide $10,000 to educators who apply within their 10th anniversary year.

Applicants must be

  • AAE members
  • Full-time educators as defined by their respective institutions, and must be teaching in an accredited U.S. or Canadian dental school or medical center
  • Certified in endodontics from an institution accredited by or having a reciprocal agreement with the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association

Deadline: Rolling

The application is completely online, complete with an upload section for your employment verification letter. Click the button below to be taken to the encrypted, secure form. This online application format replaces paper and emailed applications.

AAE Foundation &  Specialty1 Partners/ADEA Scholar for the ADEA Leadership Institute

ADEA, in partnership with the Foundation for Endodontics and Specialty1 Partners, will sponsor an endodontic educator's participation in ADEA's Leadership Institute. One recipient will receive a $25,000 scholarship for tuition and fees for his/her participation in the ADEA Leadership Institute. The Leadership Institute helps develop dental faculty to become future academic leaders.

Criteria and Eligibility Requirements

The recipient will be selected by ADEA based on their criteria. Read more about the criteria and eligibility requirements.


Candidates must submit an application to ADEA on or before ADEA’s deadline.

Past Recipients

2023 - Supported by Specialty1 Partners
Dr. Lorel E. Burns, New York University

2022 - Supported by Specialty1 Partners
Dr. Leticia Guajardo-Morales, UT Health Houston School of Dentistry

Dr. Carla Falcon, Rutgers School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Paul Lindauer, East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Avina Paranjpe, University of Washington School of Dentistry

Dr. Natasha Flake, University of Washington School of Dentistry

Dr. Ariadne Letra, University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston

Dr. Renato Silva, University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston

Dr. Laurie Fleisher, New York University College of Dentistry

Dr. Craig Hirschberg, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, New Jersey Dental School

Dr. Marc Levitan, Medical University of South Carolina James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine

NEW Part-time Educator Development Grant

Beginning in 2024, this grant will reimburse part-time endodontic educators (paid or unpaid, minimum FTE 0.2 or equivalent) for early bird meeting registration fees for either AAE Annual Meeting or Insight Track, once per year.

The program will award grants to the first 50 eligible applicants during its first two years, 2024 and 2025.

Applicants must be:

  1. Part-time educators (paid or unpaid), minimum FTE 0.2 or equivalent.
  2. Endodontists and members of the AAE.
  3. Teaching in pre-doctoral and/or postdoctoral endodontics at a CODA-accredited U.S. or Canadian dental school/medical school/medical center, GPR program, or AEGD programs.
  4. Verified by their institution.

Deadline: Rolling until annual program funds are expended.