Skip to content

Awards & Recognition


Designed to encourage and acknowledge lifelong enhancement of knowledge and skills, the AAE awards honor significant contributions to the specialty and community. We encourage all members to participate in the AAE awards and recognition program at some point in their career.

The purpose of the AAE awards and recognition program is to:

  • Celebrate the excellence and unique qualities of recipients.
  • Reward and acknowledge important contributions.
  • Engender pride and excitement in the organization.
  • Inspire and motivate future leaders.



AAE Awards

Edgar D. Coolidge Award

Named for Edgar D. Coolidge, a pioneer in endodontics who was instrumental in establishing the AAE, this award recognizes individuals who exemplify Dr. Coolidge’s extraordinary vision, leadership, and dedication to the specialty. Recipients of this award—the AAE’s highest honor—are an elite group of individuals who serve as role models for the entire endodontic community.

Louis I. Grossman Award

This award recognizes an author for cumulative publication of significant research studies that have made an extraordinary contribution to endodontology.

Ralph F. Sommer Award

This award is given to the principal author(s) of a publication of specific significance to the science and art of endodontology. The award may be given for articles describing developments or advances in methodology and/or materials and devices and for constructive influence on clinical practice. The paper(s) need not necessarily be based on research, but can be philosophical, social, technological, etc., and pertaining to endodontics.

I.B. Bender Lifetime Educator Award

This award acknowledges a member whose contributions to endodontics in the field of education have demonstrated excellence through selfless commitment to full-time educational pursuits, and whose valuable contributions have instilled in his/her students the desire to pursue excellence in their careers.

Edward M. Osetek Educator Award

This award is given to a member that has demonstrated status as an outstanding educator by earning the esteem and respect of his/her students and faculty associates; by the quality of former/current students and their impact on endodontics; and by receiving invitations to present endodontic seminars, lectures or workshops at other educational institutions.

Calvin D. Torneck Part-Time Educator Award

This award recognizes a part-time educator in a predoctoral or advanced specialty program in endodontics whose valuable contributions have demonstrated dedication to endodontics and instilled in his/her students the desire to pursue excellence in their careers.


Spirit of Service Award (Career Dental Community Volunteer)

The Spirit of Service Award (Career Dental Community Volunteer) recognizes individuals who have demonstrated the true spirit of leadership through the following criteria:

  • devoted time and expertise
  • created effective partnerships in the dental community
  • impacted dental organizations
  • benefited patients by volunteering their time and expertise in treating the underserved

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership is granted by the Board of Directors in acknowledgment of their significant contributions that have furthered the advancement of endodontics.

Student Achievement Award

The Student Achievement Award in Endodontics and certificate is presented annually to an undergraduate dental student who has demonstrated an above-average skill level in endodontics. While all students who show a keen interest in endodontics are encouraged to join the AAE as Predoctoral Student members, program directors are invited to nominate one student for this award each year.

For more information, contact the Membership Department at, 800-872-3636 (North America) or 312-266-7255 (International).

President's Award

Presented at the discretion of the AAE President and approved by the Board of Directors, the President's Award honors exceptional members who work behind the scenes to promote and advance the Association.