Skip to content

Foundation for Endodontics Announces New 2018-2019 Officers, Trustees

CHICAGO—The Foundation for Endodontics welcomed new officers and trustees to its Board during the American Association of Endodontists’ recent annual meeting in Denver. They are:

 Mary T. Pettiette, D.D.S., President. Dr. Pettiette is the assistant dean for Admissions and Predoctoral Education and an associate professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry. She received her D.D.S. and Certificate in Endodontics from the Louisiana State University School of Dentistry in 1984 and 1986, respectively. A Diplomate of the American Board of Endodontics, Dr. Pettiette joined the Foundation Board of Trustees in 2009, previously served on the AAE Board of Directors and is past president of the North Carolina State Endodontic Society.

John M. Nusstein, D.D.S., M.S., President-Elect. Dr. Nusstein is chair and professor of the Division of Endodontics at The Ohio State University College of Dentistry. He received his dental degree from the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry in 1987 and his Certificate in Endodontics from OSU in 1995. A Board-certified endodontist, Dr. Nusstein also served in the U.S. Air Force, where he completed a GPR residency and was chief of endodontics at air bases in the U.S. and Japan. He has published nearly 100 scientific papers and numerous book chapters and serves on the Journal of Endodontics Scientific Advisory Board. Dr. Nusstein is a past president of the Ohio Association of Endodontists.

Nava Fathi, D.D.S., Trustee. Dr. Fathi is a private practicing endodontist in San Jose, Calif., and serves as an associate professor of endodontics at the University of the Pacific School of Dentistry. She received her dental degree from the University of the Pacific in 1996 and her Certificate in Endodontics from the University of Southern California School of Dentistry in 1998. Dr. Fathi previously served on the AAE Board of Directors and is a past president of the California State Association of Endodontics, the Santa Clara County Dental Society and the Northern California Academy of Endodontics.

John Ferone, Public Sector Trustee. Mr. Ferone is the executive director, Global Endodontic Category Management for Henry Schein Dental. He is responsible for enhancing the global development of Henry Schein’s endodontic category. He is also responsible for key opinion leader development, innovation and product management. Mr. Ferone received his B.A. from Mount Saint Mary’s University in Emmitsburg, Md. He joined Henry Schein in 2010 and previously worked at Guidance Endodontics and Phillips Oral Healthcare.

Mark Laramore, Public Sector Trustee. Mr. Laramore is director of Strategic Business Development, Surgical Services at Pacific Dental Services in Irvine, Calif., where he oversees platform development to recruit, retain and integrate dental specialists into company supported owner doctor offices across the country. He handled sales management and operational oversight of companies in the healthcare industry for more than 30 years. Mr. Laramore spent four years in the U.S. Navy, attending the Naval School of Health Sciences, with honorable discharge in 1987.

Kim Livesay, Public Sector Trustee. Ms. Livesay is the strategic partnerships and industry relations manager for DENTSPLY Global Endodontics, where she’s worked since 1999. She works with specialty associations, dental programs and clinicians all over North America to promote and advance endodontics, specifically in the areas of education and research. Ms. Livesay graduated from Northeastern State University in Oklahoma with a B.B.A. in meetings management.

Melissa Marchesan, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D, New Practitioner Trustee. Dr. Marchesan is an associate professor in the department of endodontics at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Dentistry in Memphis. She received her Ph.D. in endodontics from the University of Ribeirão Preto in Brazil and her dental degree from University of São Paulo, Brazil. She completed her specialty in endodontics at Nova Southeastern University. Dr. Marchesan previously held teaching positions at Nova and the University of Ribeirão Preto.

Also joining the Foundation for Endodontics Board of Trustees are AAE officers President Patrick E. Taylor, D.D.S., President-Elect Keith V. Krell, D.D.S., M.S., M.A., Vice President Alan H. Gluskin, D.D.S., and Immediate Past President Garry L. Myers, D.D.S.


About the Foundation for Endodontics
The mission of the Foundation for Endodontics is to support endodontics by providing resources and funding for research, education, public awareness and access to care. The Foundation for Endodontics supports saving natural teeth for all through the efforts of endodontic specialists. For information about the Foundation for Endodontics, please visit