Skip to content

AAE Introduces New Board Slate for 2021-2022

The American Association of Endodontists (AAE) is announcing  its officers of the Board of Directors for the 2021-2022 year during the annual meeting, AAE21.

Alan S. Law, D.D.S., Ph.D., will serve as President. According to AAE’s April 2021 Communiqué feature, Dr. Law views his role with the AAE (and with his family, practice and academics) as being part of a team. He received his Doctor of Dental Surgery and Certificate in Endodontics from the University of Iowa College of Dentistry, Iowa City, Iowa.  He also completed his Ph.D., “Mechanisms and Modulation of Orofacial Pain”, with the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Iowa.  Dr. Law has published several articles in scientific and clinical journals and has co-authored chapters on The Non-Odontogenic Toothache and Regenerative Endodontics in Pathways of the Pulp, and has lectured at over 300 local, national and international meetings. He is a Past President of the Minnesota Association of Endodontists and Past President of the American Board of Endodontics. He is in full–time practice in the Twin Cities, Minn., and is President of The Dental Specialists, a multi-specialty dental practice with over 30 specialists and 120 team members.  He is also an Adjunct Associate Professor in the Division of Endodontics at the University of Minnesota.

Stefan I. Zweig, D.D.S., will serve as President-Elect. He received his dental degree from the University of Southern California School of Dentistry in 1986 and his Certificate in Endodontics from USC in 1982.  Dr. Zweig maintained a faculty position at USC from 1992 until 1998 in the Department of Endodontics during which time he served as Associate Clinical Professor and the Assistant Director of Graduate Endodontics. He has served on numerous AAE committees the Association in many roles. Following a 30-year career as a private endodontic practitioner, Dr. Zweig currently serves on the faculty of the Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC as an Associate Professor of Clinical Dentistry in the Division of Endodontics and Orthodontics. He is a Fellow of the American College of Dentists and the Pierre Fauchard Academy.

Craig S. Hirschberg, D.D.S., will be serve as Vice President.
Dr. Hirschberg is Chair of the Department of Endodontics and former Director of the Advanced Education Program in Endodontics at Rutgers School of Dental Medicine.  He received his DDS at New York University College of Dentistry in 1980 and earned a certificate in Postgraduate Endodontics at New Jersey Dental School (now Rutgers) in 1983. Dr. Hirschberg is a Diplomate of the American Board of Endodontics and a Fellow of the International College of Dentists.  He is in part-time private endodontic practice in Chatham, N.J.



Steven J. Katz, D.D.S., M.S., will serve as M.S. Treasurer.
Dr. Katz graduated from The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy in 1980. He received his Doctorate in Dental Surgery from The Ohio State University College of Dentistry in 1986 and his Certificate of Endodontics and Master of Science degree from the college in 1988. He is also a Diplomate of the American Board of Endodontics. Dr. Katz is also a member of the American Dental Association, Ohio Dental Association, Greater Cleveland Dental Society, and a specialist member of the Ohio Association of Endodontists.




Natasha M. Flake, D.D.S., Ph.D., M.S.D., will serve as Secretary. Dr. Flake is a part time practitioner and full-time educator.  She graduated Magna Cum Laude with a Doctor of Dental Surgery degree from the Baltimore College of Dental Surgery at the University of Maryland in 2005, with a Doctor of Philosophy in Biomedical Sciences from the University of Maryland Graduate School. She earned a Master of Science in Dentistry and Certificate in Endodontics from the University of Washington Graduate Endodontics Program in June 2007. She also serves as the director of the undergraduate Endodontic program at the University of Washington.



Alan H. Gluskin, D.D.S., is the Immediate Past President. Dr. Gluskin is currently Professor and Vice-Chair, Department of Endodontics, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, University of the Pacific in San Francisco. He is at present a Fellow of the International College of Dentists and the American College of Dentists. He  is also a member of numerous societies including the American Dental Association and the San Francisco Dental Society.