Skip to content

General Assembly Minutes – April 30, 2020

Call to Order

President Keith V. Krell called the 2020 General Assembly of the American Association of Endodontists to order at 9 a.m. Central Time on April 30, 2020. The meeting was conducted via web conference. A quorum of voting members was in attendance. President Krell instructed the assembly on voting procedures for the meeting.

Approval of Minutes

President Krell called for approval of the minutes of the April 12, 2019, held at the Palais des Congrès de Montréal in Montréal, Québec, as published in the Communique.

GA-1 Moved: That the 2019 General Assembly Minutes be approved as published.

Motion Carried.

Reports of Officers

Written reports from the AAE President, Secretary, and Treasurer, as well as the Foundation for Endodontics, American Board of Endodontics, and Journal of Endodontics were made available to members online prior to the meeting.

President Krell proposed that the agenda for the General Assembly Meeting be limited to approval of the 2019 General Assembly Minutes and election of officers and directors of the AAE, trustees of the Foundation, and directors of the ABE. The agenda was approved without objection.

GA-2 Moved: That the 2020 General Assembly Agenda be approved as presented.

Motion Carried.

Election of Board Members

AAE Immediate Past President Patrick E. Taylor presented the slate of nominees for Officers and Directors of the AAE, Directors of the American Board of Endodontics, and Trustees of the Foundation for Endodontics as nominated by the AAE Nominating Committee, the ABE Nominating Committee, and District Nominating Committees, for terms beginning in 2020.

AAE Officer Nominees:

Dr. Alan H. Gluskin

Dr. Alan S. Law

Vice President
Dr. Stefan I. Zweig

Dr. Craig S. Hirschberg                        

Dr. Natasha M. Flake

Immediate Past President
Dr. Keith V. Krell

AAE District Director Nominees:

District I
Dr. Elizabeth S. Perry

District II
Dr. Marcus D. Johnson

District III
Dr. Theodore D. Ravenel

District VI
Dr. Scott L. Doyle

District VII
Dr. Kenneth W. Tittle

Foundation for Endodontics Nominees:

Dr. Fiza Singh

New Practitioner Trustee
Dr. Johnah C. Galicia

Public Sector Representatives
Mr. John Ferone
Mr. Scott Fehrs
Mr. Kurt Van Hofwegen

ABE Director Nominees:

Dr. Anibal R. Diogenes
Dr. Melissa M. Drum
Dr. Fabricio B. Teixeira

GA-3 Moved: That the slate of nominees for AAE officers and Directors, AAE Foundation Trustees and Public Sector Representatives, and ABE Directors be elected.

Motion Carried.

New AAE officers and district directors, ABE directors, and AAE Foundation trustees were reminded to abide by the Constitution and Bylaws of the American Association of Endodontists and the Bylaws of the respective organizations to which they have been elected, and to discharge their duties and responsibilities to the best of their abilities. They were then installed into their respective offices.

Outgoing President’s Remarks

Immediate Past President Keith V. Krell thanked the Assembly for the opportunity to serve as AAE President, and shared his pride at the Association’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic and advocacy on behalf of members. Dr. Krell congratulated Dr. Gluskin on beginning his term as President.

Incoming President’s Remarks

President Gluskin addressed the Assembly, remarking on the diversity, service, and leadership showcased within the specialty. He spoke to the importance of participating in advocacy, giving to the foundation, and working towards board certification. Dr. Gluskin thanked the assembly and encouraged members to attend AAE21 in Atlanta.

There being no further business, the Assembly was adjourned at 9:35.